The Spa Retreat

I’ll warn you right now, this is a photo-heavy post. I took part in a photography workshop last weekend and then I went out of town and got to explore photo-worthy landscapes and I got a little trigger happy. It happens. I know you understand.

So last week my neighbour asked me and my friend if we’d like to join her and another neighbour on an overnight getaway to a spa retreat about three hours outside of Jakarta. For a very reasonable fee (approximately $150) we got transfers to and from Jakarta, four meals, two spa treatments and accommodation for the night. The place was described as quaint and rustic, but I was game.

The drive up to the spa was a bit treacherous. It was a steep, windy road and it was rough. The last 25 kilometers took an hour, I’m sure. However, it was completely worth it for the view and the cool mountain hour. I can’t tell you how amazing it felt to sit out in the sun (sun! no smog to block its rays!) and breathe the air (air! actual fresh air! not diesel fumes!).

I’m not sure this place has been updated much in the past 25 years since it opened, but I think that’s part of the charm.

These were our rooms (all four in a row):

And this was our view:


There were actually only six guests total the night we were there (us plus an Indonesian couple) so that meant one swimming pool for every three guests! Although no one went swimming anyways.

On the first day we arrived, had lunch, walked down to one waterfall (of four) and then walked back for a stretching and relaxation course (basically yoga in positions you could sleep in – it was amazing).

This was followed by an hour long massage, an hour of spa time (sauna, steam, jacuzzi) and then cocktail hour. However, in the interest of full disclosure I must warn you that for cocktail hour they served… chamomile tea. Yep. A big glass of chamomile tea. Then it was dinner and lights out by about 8:00. I kid you not. Luckily one of the ladies had brought a bottle of wine and I had brought a container of choclate chip cookies. We hung out in the rooms until we were ready for sleep.

The wake-up call on the second day came at 5:45.

This was so we could hike down to a second waterfall by sunrise and go for an early morning swim. Now, as a Canadian I can say, that was some cold effing water. My feet were numb in a matter of minutes. However, the feel of the falls pounding down on my back was incredible. I lost myself for a moment, let go of the rock I was clinging to and scratched my legs to shit. Totally worth it. Also, our guide promised that the fresh water would make me look 10 years younger. You can’t argue with that.


We then walked back to the resort and had breakfast under the watchful eyes of some geese.

It was then time for two hours of aerobics. That’s right. TWO HOURS. OF AEROBICS. After a 6 am hike and swim. The first class was regular aerobics, and the second class was Below the Belt, focussing on core building and strength or something and OHMYGOD, I thought I might never walk again. Luckily this was promptly followed by a pedicure and reflexology session. I then spent the next hour reading in the sun until it was time for lunch and then home.

I so could have stayed another night. If you’re the type of person who is happy to do nothing much then this is the place for you. The aerobics classes might not be everyone’s cup of tea, but they were 100% optional. I just like to torture myself.

~ by Jenny-la on 15 June 2011.

2 Responses to “The Spa Retreat”

  1. Sounded like an amazing weekend, and these are great photos!

Leave a Reply

 
